The 2010 Award Winners

In 2010 thirteen candidates were selected for interview. These candidates were interviewed by a panel of HCA Foundation Trustees, Mr. Geoffrey Glazer Consultant Surgeon, Dr Michael Harding General Practitioner and Susan Smith, CEO, The Princess Grace Hospital. A total grant amount of £65,000 was allocated.

Duncan Bew

Duncan Bew is a Specialist Registrar in General and Vascular Surgery in North East Thames Region. He was awarded £7000 to study for the International Trauma Fellowship at Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town for 6 months. His special interest is in general and vascular surgery and trauma management

Seema Biswas

Seema Biswas is the Post CCT General Surgery and Lead Clinical Editor onExamination from BMJ Learning. She was awarded £2000 to study for the Trauma Surgery and Critical Care Fellowship at Hadassah Medical Centre, Jerusalem, Israel. Her special interests are in trauma and emergency general surgery.

Claude Botha

Claude Botha is a Clinical Research Fellow in Neurogastroenterology (The Wingate Institute, Blizzard Institute of Cell and Molecular Science, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Prof Q Aziz) and Honorary Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist – Gastroenterology (Barts and The London NHS Trust, Dr R Marley). He was awarded £2500 to study the (UNC) Visiting Scholars Training Program in Functional GI & Motility Disorders at The University of North Carolina (UNC) Centre for Functional GI & Motility Disorders, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA. He is a PhD research student with a special interest in functional gastrointestinal disorders and their psychiatric co-morbidity. He is interested in the treatment of visceral pain conditions specifically.

Lianne Castle

Lianne Castle is a Specialist Registrar in Respiratory and General Medicine, Oxford Deanery (ST5). She was awarded £2000 to study for a fellowship in interventional bronchoscopy at Toronto General Hospital, Toronto, Canada. Her special interest is respiratory medicine and lung cancer.

Charles Durrant

Charles Durrant is a Microsurgical Fellow at the Department of Plastic Surgery, Royal Marsden Hospital, London. He was awarded £6000 to study lymphaticovenular bypass and free lymph node transfer for the treatment of lymphoedema at M D Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas, The O’Brien Microsurgical Institute, St. Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia and The Melanoma Institute of Australia in Sydney, Australia. His special interests are microsurgical reconstruction; oncological surgery including breast cancer reconstruction, head & neck cancer, skin cancer and sarcoma; cancer-associated lymphoedema.

Nizam Mamode

Nizam Mamode is Consultant Transplant Surgeon, Guys and St Thomas Hospitals and Great Ormond Street Hospital and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Kings College, London. He was awarded £6000 to study Renal Transplantation Without Immunosuppression: Implementing Tolerance at Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, USA. His special interest is in renal and pancreatic transplantation in adults and children.

Dan Nguyen

Dan Nguyen is a Specialist Registrar in Ophthalmology. He was awarded £3000 to study the management of complex glaucoma and the use of drainage implant surgery at Royal Victorisn Eye and Ear Hospital, Melbourne, Australia. His special interest is in medical and surgical management of Glaucoma.

Deirdre O'Donnell

Deirdre O'Donnell is a final year Paediatric Emergency Medicine Grid Specialist Registrar. She was awarded £1500 to study for the Paediatric Emergency Trauma Post-CCT fellowship at Red Cross War Memorial Children's Hospital, Capetown, South Africa. Her special interest is in paediatric emergency medicine especialy trauma.

Matthew Potter

Matthew Potter is a Head and Neck Fellow at The Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford. He was awarded £6000 to study the reconstruction of the aerodigestive tract and head and neck defects using local flaps at The Royal Brisbane Hospital, Queensland Australia. His special interest is in head and neck surgery.

Benedict Rogers

Benedict Rogers is a lower limb arthroplasty fellow at Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Ontario. He was awarded £5000 to study lower limb and pelvic reconstruction at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto, Ontario. His special interest is in hip & pelvic reconstruction.

Kate Thomas

Kate Thomas is Locum Consultant Anaesthetist at the Nuffield Department of Anaesthesia Oxford Radcliffe NHS Trust. She was awarded £5000 to study anaesthesia for children with congenital heart disease at The Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne, Australia. Her special interest is in paediatric anaesthesia.

James Tysome

James Tysome is a Otolaryngology Specialist Registrar at St.George's Hospital, Tooting, London. He was awarded £15000 to study for a fellowship in head and neck and skull base surgery at the Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, Stanford University Medical School, California, USA. His special interests are in head, neck and skull base surgery.

Sui Chien Wong

Sui Chien Wong is a Senior Clinical Leadership (Darzi) Fellow. She was awarded £4000 to study paediatric vitreoretinal surgery at Associated Retinal Consultants, William Beaumont Hospital Royal Oak, Michigan USA. Her special interests are ophthalmology - adult & paediatric vitreoretinal surgery.